Your Today List

Boom. That’s the word I use when someone puts me in my place. Chris Brogan really knows how to put me in my place.

Instead of a todo list, make a today list. Make the word “today” synonymous with how you live your vision. Make your view of the future your lifestyle, not a project.

We spend so much time talking about what we’re going to do. We love to tell ourselves that – at our age – we can wait. Here are a few examples:

  1. I’ll start going to church when I get a wife/husband.
  2. I’ll save for retirement when I make a little more money.
  3. I’ll work out more when I can afford a gym membership.
  4. The housing market isn’t going anywhere, I’ll save for a house later.
  5. My job is o.k. now, I’ll wait until “blank” before I look for a new job.

Or on a smaller scale:

  1. I can clean my bathroom later…I’m the only one that uses it anyways.
  2. I’ll make that budget next week…this week is an exception to my normal schedule.
  3. I’ll wake up early tomorrow…I had to work late last night.

I think you get it.

We have to get out of the mindset that the future is in our hands. As we all have probably experienced at least once in our lives, the future isn’t promised to anyone. Turn that To-Do list you’ve made in your head for the “you” that you want to be into a Today list.

Me? I need to work out. I need to find a church with my wife. I put these things off every week, assuming I can work on them when I have more time. The truth is, there just isn’t any time quite like the present. In fact, I probably have more time right now than I will ever have until I retire. What are you holding yourself back from this week?

Tagged , , , , , ,

One thought on “Your Today List

  1. Linda Groce says:

    Your words today really made me think and reflect on how often have I done that this year. I am going to work thinking about the today more and not thinking about putting off the future! Thanks for your words!!

Leave a Reply

